Detoxing, doggie day care and a lot of liquid.

LittleBird

On Monday all I ate (well, drank) was juice (well, liquids).

I kicked off this week with a detox cleanse. That right ladies and gentlemen, I got suckered in. Despite previously rolling my eyes at the idea of starving yourself for one, three or five days, and questioning how it could do anything other than make you hangry. This one seemed different.

Firstly it was organized/supplied by my favourite rawesome (see what I did there) café in Auckland, Little Bird Unbakery.

Sidenote: This place is amazing, I am completely besotted and since my last review (here) I have re-tried the dreaded green smoothie and now have it multiple times a week because it has completely grown on me. And I’m pretty sure it does good things for my insides (and who doesn’t want that).

LittleBird2

Also adding to its plus sides was the salad waiting for you at the end of the day (yes, actual food). The idea of this cleanse is to in no way starve or deprive you, so you do actually get to eat (woop woop), and they say that you should listen to your body and if you’re feeling hungry during your detox day, you can (nay, should) eat. It also comes with a recommendation and heaps of information from resident Little Bird nutritionist/naturopath, Nellie, in your box of goodies (to help guide you through the days post detox).

Finally (and probably the biggest plus) was how fresh it was. No matter how many days you choose to do, each drink is prepared for you that morning (no exceptions) and can either be picked up or delivered to you. Other cleanses I researched into had you receiving five days worth of drinks at once – I don’t know what is preserving those babies (or how you’re meant to fit it all in the fridge), but I don’t want a chemical filled detox.

So, after picking up my box of drinks (plus salad), I was subject to a day of lots of peeing, excessive drinking and a damn good mood. The drinks vary from juices and smoothies and you’re provided with heaps of info on what each little glass bottle contains along with when is the best time to drink it (i.e. before exercise or first thing).

LittleBird3 LittleBird4 LittleBird5

It felt like I was continuously drinking (literally from 830am to 830pm I’m pretty sure I always had something in my mouth – dirty jokes aside), and I learnt that I am a very slow drinker, but I loved it and I felt amazing.  Meant as a rest and recharge for your digestive system I felt full of energy throughout the day (even more that my actually food-fuelled self), and never even thought of snacking.

This option is a little more expensive than others, and there were definitely people who scoffed at the $110 price tag (no mum you totally read that wrong, it was actually way cheaper than that, just like those new jeans…way cheaper), but I believe that everybody has their thing.

Some people will drop wads of cash on designer clothes, they will buy into the brand, the ethics and the culture of what they wear. They will inspect fabric quality, poor over fashion magazines and pay that bit extra to dry clean the things they love.

Some will buy their beloved pooch the gourmet pet food and splurge on doggie shaped waist coats for dearest to wear to animal day care on the day of “class photos” (yes, that’s a real thing).

Some with spend up large on GPS watches and waterproof shoes to wear on their latest adventure hike that they hit up after sweating it out in the bikram, but before they take their new shining mountain bike (fitted with GoPro – obv) to Woodhill.

And some will spend every cent they have on going to restaurants to try degustation menus, they will read up reviews and painstakingly rank where they want to try next (in order of deliciousness). They will seek out organic produce, farmers markets and refuse to grace their pantry with anything other than free range eggs.

The problem with me is, I’m kind of every single one of these people (or at least I would be if I actually had a pet).

I tell myself I still get a better deal of it than someone who loves an extreme sport like skydiving. But that’s probably a lie.

What’s not a lie though, is how amazing I felt come Tuesday morning. And how much I would totally do this cleanse again (whilst kitted out in my designer clothes, puppy in-tow, after my hard core yoga sesh – duh).

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

