Zucchini Fritters, vegetarian friends and crap tv.

Fritters

One of my great friends is vegetarian. This friend and I are kinda joined at the hip right now (I would like to think its because I’m amazing… but I am pretty sure its just because I’m about to bugger off to the other side of the world and the vegetarian fells guilty about saying no to me). One of our favourite things to do is watch terrible (and I mean really, really terrible) Friday night television.

The problem we face, however, is that I’m paleo, and she is vegetarian. It’s definitely not an impossible task, but it can be a daunting one to create a dish that satisfies both our dietary requirements. Our go-to easy dinner is chucking a bunch of seasonal veggies at the oven to roast. Easy, simple, but often a little dull (no matter how much dukkah I slather it in). So, after feeling a little bored of the regular, I tested out a wee recipe I’ve been conjuring up in my head ever since perfecting a paleo pancake.

And voila…

Zucchini Fritters

  • 4 Cups of zucchini (I found this to be about 4)
  • 2 heaped teaspoons of salt
  • 1 egg (lightly beaten)
  • 1/3 Cup of coconut flour
  • 1 teaspoon of ground pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
  • Juice from 1 small lime
  • (plus coconut oil for frying)

Firstly, grate your zucchinis into a bowl, pop them in with the salt and leave them for a bit to let all their juiciness eek out (yum). This should take about 15 minutes.

Fritters2 Fritters3

Pre heat your oven to 180 (mine is fan bake).

Now, to get rid of all the water you need to squeeze the living daylights out of your mound of your zucchinis. I popped mine into a sieve and pushed as much water through as I could before returning to the bowl (I did this a couple of times to make sure is was as dry as possible).

Fritters4 Fritters5

Then, chuck in all the other ingredients and mix up. Now would also be a great time to throw in some of your own flavours. This is just a base recipe and can easily be added too. (Maybe some cumin, or coriander or paprika? Whatever you fancy – or nothing!)

Once it’s all combined, portion it off into patties (about 2 tablespoons of mixture in each) and pop it on a lined oven tray.

Fritters6Fritters7

Put your patties in the oven for and 15 minutes (to cook through).

To give these a nice golden finish, once they’re out of the oven, fry them in a pan of coconut oil (on high).

I served these with a simple guacamole (think 1 avo, lemon juice, salt and pepper) and a quick salsa (corn*, tomato, cucumber, spring onion and coriander) and then sprinkled the whole lot with coriander – seriously yum.

Now, kick back, grab a cuppa and enjoy the latest episode of Beauty and The Geek (stop judging me).

*I know than corn is not officially paleo, and I don’t eat it in its refined/turned into flour form. But when its still fresh I have it occasionally because… well its damn tasty.

Fritters8

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

